Carson City Library Books Like Us: Winter Reading Challenge Dec. 19 through Jan. 10

After a wonderfully successful reading challenge in January, the Carson City Library is starting the upcoming Books Like Us: Winter Reading Challenge earlier to accommodate more participation.

From Dec. 19, 2020, through Jan. 10, 2021, library patrons are welcome to participate whether they are reading ebooks, listening to audiobooks or even reading the daily newspaper. Reading time is logged completely online, so patrons do not need to access the library building to participate.

“We are lucky that libraries were well into the digital space before the pandemic, so it’s easy to find and check out ebooks and other online materials,” said Maria Klesta, Carson City Library’s Creative Learning manager. “And for people who want physical books and other materials, we have curbside service available. The Winter Reading Challenge is truly an event for any age and interest.”

Patrons who read 15 hours during the challenge are entered to win a grand prize in their age group. Grand prize raffle winners will be chosen via online drawing and awarded by age group: 0-5, 6-11, 12-17 and 18+. The more hours read, the more tickets earned. All time tracking and ticket collection is done via an online app called Beanstack. Patrons who took part in a previous Carson City Library reading challenges do not need to make a new account to sign up.

Books Like Us: Winter Reading Challenge, sponsored by Simon and Schuster, is a celebration of diversity, harnessing the transformative power of seeing oneself reflected in a book. The overall goal is to have Carson City Library patrons read 75,000 minutes, a doable goal since in January, the community read a staggering 73,936 minutes.

Carson City residents who want to participate, but don’t have a library card yet, can contact the library about getting a card: creativelearning@www.carsoncitylibrary.org or 775.887.2244. To find out more about the Carson City Library, Books Like Us: Winter Reading Challenge, or the library’s curbside service, visit www.carsoncitylibrary.org.

Related News

Related News